Champions League: 16 Teams Continue the Battle

by Stevan Plavšić

The Champions League has reached its culmination. The last matches of the group stage are over and all 16 teams to progress to the knockout stage have been determined.

Champions League last 16 – who, what, when?

Both England and Spain have four representatives, while Italy and Germany have three remaining each. France has two. It’s worth mentioning that this is the first time in the history of the Champions League when only teams from the top five competitions (England, Spain, Germany, France, Italy) will participate in the knockout stage. Here are all the teams that continue their fight for the ultimate prize of European football.

Group winners (seeded): Barcelona (ESP), Bayern München (GER), Juventus (ITA), Leipzig (GER), Liverpool (ENG), Manchester City (ENG), Paris Saint-Germain (FRA), Valencia (ESP)

Group runners-up (unseeded): Atalanta (ITA), Atlético Madrid (ESP), Borussia Dortmund (GER), Chelsea (ENG), Lyon (FRA), Napoli (ITA), Real Madrid (ESP), Tottenham Hotspur (ENG)

What are the rules for the draw?

  • All the seeded teams (who won their respective groups) will play the second leg of the Round of 16 match at home.
  • No team can play another who were either in their Champions League group or are from the same national association.

The round of 16 draw will take place on Monday at 12:00 CET in UEFA’s headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland. You can watch a live stream of the draw on the UEFA Champions League website.

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy