Masters 2020: A Display of Snooker’s Finest

by Denis Metev

Snooker fans around the world are already patiently waiting for Masters 2020 to start. Not much longer to wait, though, as the tournament commences on January 12.  Let’s get a preview of what the second of three Triple Crown events in snooker has to offer this year.

As you know, the Masters is an invitational tournament, non-ranking, which features the top 16 players in the ranking. Ronnie O’Sullivan, finalist from 2019, decided not to enter the event this year, despite being third in the rankings. His place was taken by Ali Carter – ranked 17th prior to the event.

Reigning champion Judd Trump will face-off Shaun Murphy in the first round of the competition, while the UK Championship winner Ding Junhui begins against Joe Perry.

Masters 2020 schedule


Judd Trump (1) vs. Shaun Murphy (9)
Ding Junhui (8) vs. Joe Perry (15)
Mark Selby (5) vs. Ali Carter (17)
John Higgins (4) vs. Barry Hawkins (10)
Neil Robertson (3) vs. Stephen Maguire (14)
Mark Allen (6) vs. David Gilbert (11)
Kyren Wilson (7) vs. Jack Lisowski (13)
Mark Williams (2) vs. Stuart Bingham (12)


Trump/Murphy vs. Junhui/Perry
Selby/Carter vs. Higgins/Hawkins
Robertson/Maguire vs. Allen/Gilbert
Wilson/Lisowski vs. Williams/Bingham


Trump/Murphy/Junhui/Perry vs. Selby/Carter/Higgins/Hawkins
Robertson/Maguire/Allen/Gilbert vs. Wilson/Lisowski/Williams/Bingham

The tournament will be held between January 12 to 16 at the Alexandra Palace in London.

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy