Red Smith Award Winners

A list of the winners of the Red Smith Award, given annually by the APSE to a person who has made "major contributions to sports journalism."

Year Writer Publication Story
1981 Red Smith New York Times
1982 Jim Murray Los Angeles Times
1983 Shirley Povich Washington Post
1984 Fred Russell Nashville Banner
1985 Blackie Sherrod Dallas Morning News
1986 Si Burick Dayton Daily News
1987 Will Grimsley Associated Press
1988 Furman Bisher Atlanta Journal
1989 Edwin Pope Miami Herald
1990 Dave Smith Dallas Morning News
1991 Dave Kindred National Sports Daily
1992 Ed Storin Miami Herald
1993 Tom McEwen Tampa Tribune
1994 Dave Anderson New York Times
1995 Richard Sandler Newsday
1996 Bill Dwyre Los Angeles Times
1997 Jerome Holtzman Chicago Tribune
1998 Sam Lacy Baltimore Afro-American
1999 Bud Collins Boston Globe Story
2000 Jerry Izenberg Newark Star-Ledger Story
2001 John Steadman Baltimore Sun Story
2002 Dick Schaap ESPN "The Sports Reporters" Story
2003 George Solomon Washington Post Story
2004 Jimmy Cannon New York City columnist Story
2005 Mary Garber Winston-Salem Journal Story
2006 Joe McGuff Kansas City Star Story
2007 Van McKenzie Orlando Sentinel Story
2008 W.C. Heinz New York Sun Story
2009 Vince Doria ESPN Story
2010 Mitch Albom Detroit Free Press Story
2011 Bill Millsaps Richmond Times-Dispatch Story
2012 Frank Deford Sports Illustrated Story
2013 Dan Jenkins Sports Illustrated Story


On Saturday, April 24, 2010 Associated Press Sports Editors Red Smith Hall of Fame was unveiled in the Student Media Center inside the Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis Campus Center in downtown Indianapolis. Here's the news story on the unveiling of the Hall of Fame and here's a link to the transcript of the keynote speech by Los Angeles Times Sports Columnist Bill Plaschke.


Mike Sherman

Mike Sherman

The Oklahoman

Mary Byrne

Mary Byrne

First Vice President

Tommy Deas

Tommy Deas

Second Vice President
The Tuscaloosa News

John Bednarowski, sports editor of the Marietta (Ga.) Daily Journal, was elected to a two-year term as APSE's third vice president in 2014.

John Bednarowski

Third Vice President
Marietta Daily Journal

Jack Berninger

Jack Berninger

Executive Director
Richmond Times-Dispatch

In the News

May 21, 2015The Seattle Times is seeking a sports producer

The Seattle Times is looking for a full-time sports producer to direct digital sports content and join a thriving digital news team.

May 19, 2015Registration open for Rio 2016 Games press operations briefing

If you are planning on covering the Rio 2016 Games, you should have received, or will shortly receive, an email outlining how to register for the Press Operations Briefing in Rio de Janiero. Deadline to register is Aug. 21.

more In the News »


Sep 15, 2014APSE at ASNE/APME Conference: Day 1

APSE president Mike Sherman of The Oklahoman is attending the ASNE-APME conference in Chicago. Follow his posts and others from Day 1 of the conference for news and updates relevant to sports journalism. Live Blog APSE at ASNE-APME conference  

Aug 6, 2012Third Vice President’s column: Reach out to smaller papers that are not APSE members

  By Tommy Deas Executive Sports Editor The Tuscaloosa (Ala.) News   First, let me extend my thanks and appreciation to those who elected me to this position and to all the old friends I got to see and new friends I got to meet at the Summer Conference in Chicago. The Third Vice President’s […]

Jul 28, 2012President’s column: The time is now to invest in the future of APSE

Sponsoring a student through APSE’s new Student Outreach Initiative is a great way to give back to the organization and the future of sports journalism. APSE President Gerry Ahern calls on APSE members to recruit and sponsor one college student as a member of the organization. The students can come from your alma mater or your coverage area. The $25 fee will give the students access to the minds and events that will shape the future of sports journalism.