Jan. Newsletter

Winners of APSE’s 2010 web contest announced Jan. 1, 2011

APSE is pleased to announce the results of the website portion of its annual sports journalism contest. Winners will be recognized at APSE’s summer conference in Boston this June.

2010 marks the second year of web competition, and there were a number of changes as the contest continues to evolve.

Most significantly, a third competition category was added, as was a second day of judging. APSE’s officers anticipate adding a fourth competition category, mirroring print, and a third day of judging in 2011. 

We’ve also added this year a multimedia category, which will be judged for the first time at our winter conference in Indianapolis in February. (We are seeking judges for the winter conference. Click here for more information).

I’d like to again thank the 12 journalists who judged the more than 100 entering websites. By all accounts, the work was grueling, though rewarding.

If you are interested in judging in 2011, or have suggestions how to improve the contest, please contact me and 2nd Vice President Gerry Ahern (gahern@yahoo-inc.com).

Judges for the A group were: Tom Bergeron of Yahoo! Sports (chair); Randy Kim of AOLFanhouse; David E. Wilson of ESPN.com; and Brian White of MSNBC.com.

Judges for the B group were: Matt Pepin of Boston.com (chair); Howard Sinker of the Minneapolis Star Tribune; Adam Mertz of the Wisconsin State Journal/Capital Times; and Toby Carrig, formerly of the Antelope Valley (Calif.) Press and now of the Decatur (Ill.) Herald & Review.

Judges for the C group were: Loren Nelson of Minnesota Hockey Hub (chair); Danyelle White of the Salt Lake Tribune; Scott Ridge of AOLFanhouse; and Danny DeFreitas of MSNBC.com.

The winners:

Class C

Under 500,000 monthly unique visitors

Top 10

Bloomington (Ind.) Herald-Times

Daily Chronicle (DeKalb, Ill.)

Eugene Register-Guard

Glens Falls (N.Y.) Post-Star

Lawrence (Kan.) Journal-World

Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, Ill.)

Opelika-Auburn News

Tuscaloosa (Ala.) News

Wisconsin State Journal/Capital Times (Madison, Wis.)

Yakima (Wash.) Herald-Republic

Honorable Mention

Casper (Wyo.) Star-Tribune

Desert Sun (Palm Springs, Calif.)

Dothan (Ala.) Eagle 

Fayetteville (N.C.) Observer

Kitsap Sun (Bremerton, Wash.)

Medford (Ore.) Mail Tribune

Reno Gazette-Journal

Santa Cruz (Calif.) Sentinel

York (Pa.) Daily Record 

Southeast Missourian

Class B

500,000 to 1,999,999 monthly unique visitors

Top 10 

Charlotte Observer 

Cleveland Plain Dealer 

Des Moines Register 

Green Bay Press-Gazette 

San Antonio Express-News 

Everett (Wash.) Daily Herald

The Press-Enterprise (Riverside, Calif.) 

Times of Northwest Indiana 

Tulsa World 

Wilmington (N.C.) Star-News 

Honorable Mention

Buffalo News 

Columbus Dispatch 

Knoxville News-Sentinel 

Las Vegas Sun 

Lexington Herald-Leader 

Lincoln Star Journal 

Pittsburgh Tribune-Review 

The Tennessean 

Times Herald-Record (Middletown, N.Y.) 

Wichita Eagle 

Class A

2 million and over monthly unique vistors

Top 10

Boston Globe

Chicago Tribune

Daily Oklahoman

Ft. Lauderdale Sun Sentinel

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

New York Daily News

New York Times

Orlando Sentinel

USA Today

Washington Post

Honorable Mention

Baltimore Sun

Cincinnati Enquirer

Dallas Morning News

Detroit Free Press

Detroit News

Los Angeles Times

Miami Herald

Minneapolis Star-Tribune


St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Michael Anastasi is president of APSE and a managing editor of The Salt Lake Tribune. You can reach him at (801) 257-8905 or via e-mail at manastasi@sltrib.com.


Mary Byrne

Mary Byrne


Tommy Deas

Tommy Deas

First Vice President
The Tuscaloosa News

Todd Adams

Todd M. Adams

Second Vice President
San Diego Union-Tribune

Jack Berninger

Jack Berninger

Executive Director
Richmond Times-Dispatch

In the News

Jul 6, 2015The Oklahoman seeks a sports page designer/graphic artist

The Oklahoman seeks a designer/graphic artist to create bold sports section fronts, full of energy and emotion.

Jul 6, 2015$1,500 raised from past presidents, members as APSE graduates another class of Diversity Fellowship Program

Past presidents and APSE members raise money for Diversity Fellowship Program.

more In the News »


Sep 15, 2014APSE at ASNE/APME Conference: Day 1

APSE president Mike Sherman of The Oklahoman is attending the ASNE-APME conference in Chicago. Follow his posts and others from Day 1 of the conference for news and updates relevant to sports journalism. Live Blog APSE at ASNE-APME conference  

Aug 6, 2012Third Vice President’s column: Reach out to smaller papers that are not APSE members

  By Tommy Deas Executive Sports Editor The Tuscaloosa (Ala.) News   First, let me extend my thanks and appreciation to those who elected me to this position and to all the old friends I got to see and new friends I got to meet at the Summer Conference in Chicago. The Third Vice President’s […]

Jul 28, 2012President’s column: The time is now to invest in the future of APSE

Sponsoring a student through APSE’s new Student Outreach Initiative is a great way to give back to the organization and the future of sports journalism. APSE President Gerry Ahern calls on APSE members to recruit and sponsor one college student as a member of the organization. The students can come from your alma mater or your coverage area. The $25 fee will give the students access to the minds and events that will shape the future of sports journalism.