APSE

APSE

APSPORTSEDITORS.org

Calendar

APSE CALENDAR

(Please email events to Mary Byrne at mbyrne@usatoday.com and Tommy Deas at tommy.deas@tuscaloosanews.com)

2015

April 13: APSE Northeast Region meeting, Quinnipiac University, Hamden, Conn. Contact region chair Jim Luttrell at luttrell@nytimes.com or at 212-556-5875. More information.

April 19-20: APSE Great Plains Region meeting, The Kansas City Star offices, 1729 Grand Blvd., Kansas City, MO 64108. Contact Michael Peters at michael.peters@tulsaworld.com or Chris Fickett at cfickett@kcstar.com. More information.

April 20: APSE Southeast Region meeting, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., Alabama Sports Hall of Fame, 2150 Richard Arrington Junior Boulevard North, Birmingham, AL 35203. Email John Bednarowski at johnbednarowski@gmail.com. More information.

April 20: APSE Mid-Atlantic Region meeting, The Penn Stater Conference Center Hotel, 215 Innovation Boulevard, State College, Pa. Cost: $25 and includes breakfast and lunch.  Contact Chris Imperiale at cimperiale@timesshamrock.com. More information

April 22-24: APSE Commissioners Meetings, New York. Contact Jeff Rosen at jrosen@kcstar.com. Details here.

May 17: APSE Southwest Region meeting, Austin American-Statesman, 305 S. Congress Ave., Austin, TX 78704. Contact Nick Mathews at nick.mathews@chron.com. More information.

May 23-25: Association of Women in Sports Media Convention, the Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown, Denver, Colo. Registration.

June 24-27: APSE Conference, The Westgate Hotel, 1055 2nd Ave., San Diego, CA 92101. Phone: (619) 238-1818. Room rate: $169. Contact Jack Berninger at jackapse@aol.com.

 

Officers

Mike Sherman

Mike Sherman

President
The Oklahoman

Mary Byrne

Mary Byrne

First Vice President
ESPN.com

Tommy Deas

Tommy Deas

Second Vice President
The Tuscaloosa News

John Bednarowski, sports editor of the Marietta (Ga.) Daily Journal, was elected to a two-year term as APSE's third vice president in 2014.

John Bednarowski

Third Vice President
Marietta Daily Journal

Jack Berninger

Jack Berninger

Executive Director
Richmond Times-Dispatch
(retired)

In the News

Apr 25, 2015Goodell says NFL will be more aggressive with personal conduct policy

NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell discussed the league’s efforts to strengthen its personal conduct policy through more aggressive enforcement and prevention measures during the Associated Press Sports Editors annual meetings with pro sports’ leaders in New York City.

Apr 24, 2015APSE commissioners meetings: Bettman says NHL expansion possible, not guaranteed

“Is it possible that there will be expansion in that five-year window you mentioned? It’s certainly possible, but I wouldn’t guarantee it.”

more In the News »

Blogs

Sep 15, 2014APSE at ASNE/APME Conference: Day 1

APSE president Mike Sherman of The Oklahoman is attending the ASNE-APME conference in Chicago. Follow his posts and others from Day 1 of the conference for news and updates relevant to sports journalism. Live Blog APSE at ASNE-APME conference  

Aug 6, 2012Third Vice President’s column: Reach out to smaller papers that are not APSE members

  By Tommy Deas Executive Sports Editor The Tuscaloosa (Ala.) News   First, let me extend my thanks and appreciation to those who elected me to this position and to all the old friends I got to see and new friends I got to meet at the Summer Conference in Chicago. The Third Vice President’s […]

Jul 28, 2012President’s column: The time is now to invest in the future of APSE

Sponsoring a student through APSE’s new Student Outreach Initiative is a great way to give back to the organization and the future of sports journalism. APSE President Gerry Ahern calls on APSE members to recruit and sponsor one college student as a member of the organization. The students can come from your alma mater or your coverage area. The $25 fee will give the students access to the minds and events that will shape the future of sports journalism.