Past Presidents


A list of the APSE presidents (affiliation is consistent with time presidency was assumed).

Year President Newspaper
1974-75 Dave Smith Boston Globe
1975-76 Dave Smith Boston Globe
1976-77 Earl Cox Louisville Courier-Journal
1977-78 Joe McGuff Kansas City Star
1978-79 Wayne Fuson Indianapolis News
1979-80 Bill Millsaps Richmond Times-Dispatch
1980-81 Hubert Mizell St. Petersburg Times
1981-82 Hal Bodley Wilmington News Journal
1982-83 Van McKenzie Atlanta Journal and Constitution
1983-84 Vince Doria Boston Globe
1984-85 Jay Searcy Philadelphia Inquirer
1985-86 Herb Stutz Los Angeles Times
1986-87 Charles Cooper San Francisco Examiner
1987-88 Henry Freeman USA Today
1988-89 Bill Dwyre Los Angeles Times
1989-90 Steve Doyle Orlando Sentinel
1990-91 John Rawlings San Jose Mercury News
1991-92 Jeff Wohler Oregonian
1992-93 Sandra Bailey New York Times
1993-94 Dale Bye Kansas City Star
1994-95 Paul Anger Miami Herald
1995-96 Bill Huffman Arizona Republic
1996-97 Paul Bowker Cedar Rapids Gazette
1997-98 Tim Ellerbee New Orleans Times-Picayune
1998-99 Bob Yates Dallas Morning News
1999-2000 Tracy Dodds Cleveland Plain Dealer
2000-01 Tim Burke Palm Beach Post
2001-02 Don Skwar Boston Globe
2002-03 John Cherwa Tribune Company
2003-04 Bill Eichenberger Newsday
2004-05 Jerry Micco Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
2005-06 Glen Crevier Minneapolis Star Tribune
2006-07 Jim Jenks Philadelphia Inquirer
2007-08 Mike Fannin Kansas City Star
2008-09 Lynn Hoppes Orlando Sentinel-ESPN.com
2009-10 Garry D. Howard Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
2010-11 Phil Kaplan Knoxville News-Sentinel
2011-12 Michael Anastasi Salt Lake Tribune
2012-13 Gerry Ahern USA Today Sports Media Group
2013-14 Tim Stephens CBSSports.com
2014-15 Mike Sherman The Oklahoman













Mary Byrne

Mary Byrne


Tommy Deas

Tommy Deas

First Vice President
The Tuscaloosa News

Todd Adams

Todd M. Adams

Second Vice President
San Diego Union-Tribune

Jack Berninger

Jack Berninger

Executive Director
Richmond Times-Dispatch

Bill Eichenberger

Bill Eichenberger

Bleacher Report

In the News

Feb 4, 2016More Off-Site Judges Needed

APSE needs a few more off-site judges for the upcoming contest.
The window for judging will be Feb. 22-March 2. The estimated time commitment will be up to 2-3 hours per day.

Jan 31, 2016Important contest addendum on Projects category

Contest addendum: It was decided at the 2015 Summer Conference that judging in the Projects category can be done by link with multimedia content included. You can update your entry if needed.

more In the News »


Sep 6, 2015Backstory: ‘Silence at Baylor’ now a thunderous topic

By Mark Selig A freelance writer received a tip, and less than three weeks later, it led to tangible change in big-time college athletics. Jessica Luther has written more than a dozen articles about sexual assaults in college football, so it’s common for her to receive the type of message she did this month, when someone — […]

Aug 4, 2015Backstory: ‘Productive procrastination’ helps Tim Graham nail feature stories

“Backstory” is Mark Selig’s new blog, going behind the story on some of the biggest sports stories. His latest post deals with Buffalo News enterprise writer Tim Graham’s profile of Bills bust Aaron Maybin.