APSE

APSE

APSPORTSEDITORS.org

Leadership

Officers

PRESIDENT
Tim Stephens
Deputy Managing Editor
CBS Interactive — Sports
1401 West Cypress Creek Rd., Suite 200
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309
Office: 954-689-3192
Cell: 954-873-0325
E-mail: tim.stephens@cbsinteractive.com 
Twitter: @tstephensCBS

 

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT
Mike Sherman
Sports Editor
The Oklahoman
9000 N. Broadway
Oklahoma City, OK 73114
Cell: 405-990-0352
Fax: 405-475-3315
E-mail: msherman@oklahoman.com

 

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT
Mary Byrne

Managing Editor
USA TODAY Sports
7950 Jones Branch Dr.
McLean, VA 22108
Office: 703-854-5258
Cell: 703-599-0061
Email: mbyrne@usatoday.com

 

THIRD VICE PRESIDENT
Tommy Deas
Executive Sports Editor
Tuscaloosa News
315 28th Ave.
Tuscaloosa, Ala. 35401
Office: 205-722-0224
Cell: 205-454-0117
Fax: 205-722-0187
E-mail: tommy.deas@tuscaloosanews.com

 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Jack Berninger
Richmond Times-Dispatch (retired)
P.O. Box 29743
Richmond, VA 23242
Home: 804-741-1565
Cell: 804-754-6148
E-mail: jackapse@aol.com

 

Regional Chairs

ATLANTIC COAST

Andi Petrini
(Newport News) Daily Press
Work: (757) 247-4643
Cell: (609) 364-0259
apetrini@dailypress.com

Vice chair:
Steve Hemphill
Roanoke (Va. Times)
steven.hemphill@roanoke.com

 

GREAT LAKES

John Styf
Northwest (IL) Herald
Work: (815) 526-4554
Cell: (920) 328-4684
jstyf@shawmedia.com

Vice chair:
*Loren Nelson
Minnesota Hockey Hub
Loren.nelson@tstmedia.com

 

GREAT PLAINS

Jeff Rosen
Kansas City Star
Work: (816) 234-4706
Cell: (713) 416-0127
jrosen@kcstar.com

Vice chair:
*Michael Peters
Tulsa World
Michael.peters@tulsaworld.com

 

MID-ATLANTIC

Mike Harris
The Washington Times
Work: (202) 636-4865
Cell: (804) 216-0512
Mharris@washingtontimes.com

Vice chair:
Chris Imperiale
The (Scranton) Times-Tribune
cimperiale@timesshamrock.com

 

NORTHEAST

Hank Winnicki
Newsday
Work: (631) 843-4832
Cell: (631) 885-0223
hank.winnicki@newsday.com

Vice chair:
*Judy Connelly
Times-Herald Record (Middletown, NY)
jconnelly@th-record.com

 

NORTHWEST

Jerrel Swenning
Yakima (WA) Herald-Republic
Work: (509) 577-7723
Cell:  (509) 930-2632
jswenning@yakimaherald.com

Vice chair:
*Seth Prince
The Oregonian
sprince@oregonian.com

 

SOUTHEAST

Mike Szvetitz
Opelika-Auburn (AL) News
Work: (334) 737-2513
Cell: (334) 750-3572
mszvetitz@oanow.com

Vice chair:
Chris White
Athens (GA) Banner-Herald
christopher.c.white@onlineathens.com

 

SOUTHWEST

Nick Mathews
Houston Chronicle
Work: (713) 362-2816
Cell: (832) 509-9513
nick.mathews@chron.com

Vice chair:
Greg Rajan
Corpus Christie Caller-Times
Greg.rajan@caller.com

 

WEST

Gene Warnick
Los Angeles News Group
Work: (818) 713-3632
Cell: (818) 454-0834
gene.warnick@langnews.com

Vice chair:
Melissa Geisler
Yahoo! Sports
geisler@yahoo-inc.com


* – Moves up to region chair at the end of the 2014 Conference

Officers

Tim Stephens

Tim Stephens

President
CBSSports.com

Mike Sherman

Mike Sherman

First Vice President
The Oklahoman

Mary Byrne

Mary Byrne

Second Vice President
USA TODAY Sports

Tommy Deas

Tommy Deas

Third Vice President
Tuscaloosa News

Jack Berninger

Jack Berninger

Executive Director
Richmond Times-Dispatch
(retired)

In the News

Apr 6, 2014The Clarion-Ledger wins 500K-2M multimedia

By Mary Byrne, APSE Second Vice President The Clarion-Ledger staffers Courtney Cronin, Chris Thomas and Nick Talbot took first place in the Associated Press Sports Editors 2013 contest in the multimedia category for 500,000 to 2 million unique visitors. They will be presented with a first-place plaque at the 2014 APSE banquet June 28 at the Crystal Gateway Marriott in […]

Apr 5, 2014N.Y. Daily News team wins Investigative award for Biogenesis probe

By Mike Sherman, APSE First Vice President/Contest Chair The New York Daily News team of Teri Thompson, Nathaniel Vinton, Michael O'Keeffe, Christian Red and Bill Madden won the Associated Press Sports Editors Investigative award for their stories on the federal and Major League Baseball investigations into Alex Rodriguez and Biogenesis. The Daily News team, which […]

more In the News »

Blogs

Aug 6, 2012Third Vice President’s column: Reach out to smaller papers that are not APSE members

  By Tommy Deas Executive Sports Editor The Tuscaloosa (Ala.) News   First, let me extend my thanks and appreciation to those who elected me to this position and to all the old friends I got to see and new friends I got to meet at the Summer Conference in Chicago. The Third Vice President’s […]

Jul 28, 2012President’s column: The time is now to invest in the future of APSE

Sponsoring a student through APSE’s new Student Outreach Initiative is a great way to give back to the organization and the future of sports journalism. APSE President Gerry Ahern calls on APSE members to recruit and sponsor one college student as a member of the organization. The students can come from your alma mater or your coverage area. The $25 fee will give the students access to the minds and events that will shape the future of sports journalism.