APSE

APSE

APSPORTSEDITORS.org

Leadership

DSC02881copy

APSE third vice president John Bednarowski talks with a young fan during the 2015 Summer Conference in San Diego.

 

Officers

PRESIDENT

Mary Byrne
Senior Deputy Editor/NFL, NHL, NASCAR
ESPN.com
545 Middle St.
Bristol, Conn., 06010
Cell: 703-599-0061
 Mary.E.Byrne@espn.com

 

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT

Tommy Deas
Executive Sports Editor
Tuscaloosa News
315 28th Ave.
Tuscaloosa, Ala. 35401
Office: 205-722-0224
Cell: 205-454-0117
Fax: 205-722-0187
tommy.deas@tuscaloosanews.com

 

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT

Todd M. Adams
Sports Editor
San Diego Union-Tribune
350 Camino de la Reina
San Diego, CA. 92108
Cell: 619-405-0943
todd.adams@utsandiego.com

 

THIRD VICE PRESIDENT

John Bednarowski
Sports Editor
Marietta Daily Journal
580 S. Fairground St.
Marietta, Ga. 30060
Office: 770-428-9411 x221
Cell: 205-215-6287
johnbednarowski@gmail.com

 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Jack Berninger
Richmond Times-Dispatch (retired)
P.O. Box 29743
Richmond, VA 23242
Home: 804-741-1565
Cell: 804-754-6148
jackapse@aol.com

 

SECRETARY/TREASURER

Bill Eichenberger
Special Projects Editor
Bleacher Report
P.O. Box 699
Huntington, N.Y. 11743
Home Office: 631-351-5889
Cell: 631-804-7324
billapse707@gmail.com

 

Regional Chairs

——–ATLANTIC COAST——–

Steve Hemphill
Sports Editor
Roanoke (Va.) Times
201 W. Campbell Ave.
PO Box 2491
Roanoke, VA 24011
Office: 540-981-3128
Cell: 303-775-2676
steven.hemphill@roanoke.com

 

Vice chair:
Dan Spears
Sports Editor
Wilmington StarNews
1003 S. 17 St.
Wilmington, N.C., 28401
Office: 910-343-2038
Cell: 910-409-4422
dan.spears@starnewsonline.com

 

——–GREAT LAKES——–

Loren Nelson
Sport Ngin/Minnesota Hockey Hub
National Media Editor
1400 Van Buren St. NE
Minneapolis, MN 55413
Office: 612-379-1030
Cell: 952-353-0800
loren.nelson@sportngin.com

 

Vice chair: 

John Boyle
Sports Editor
Dayton Daily News1611 S. Main St.
Dayton, Ohio 45409
Office: 937-225-2217
Cell: 937-522-1278
john.boyle@coxinc.com

 

——–GREAT PLAINS——–

Michael Peters
Sports Editor
Tulsa World
315 S. Boulder Ave.
Tulsa, OK, 74103
Office: 918-581-8348
Cell: 918-581-8348
Michael.peters@tulsaworld.com

 

Vice chair:
Chris Fickett
Deputy Sports Editor
Kansas City Star
1729 Grand Blvd.
Kansas City, MO, 64108
Office: 816-234-4354
cfickett@kcstar.com

 

——–MID-ATLANTIC——–

Chris Imperiale
Sports Editor
The (Scranton) Times-Tribune
149 Penn Ave.
Scranton, PA 18503
Office: 570-348-9125
Cell: 570-510-9423
cimperiale@timesshamrock.com

 

Vice chair:
Jim Reeser
Sports Editor
The Citizens’ Voice
75 N. Washington St.
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701
Office: 570-821-2065
Cell: 570-498-3172
jreeser@citizensvoice.com

 

——–NORTHEAST——–

Jim Luttrell
Senior Staff Editor
New York Times
620 Eighth Ave.
New York, NY 10018
Office: 212-556-5875
Cell: 732-580-0290
 luttrell@nytimes.com

 

Vice chair:
Jason Murray
Sports Manager
The Post Standard (Syracuse Media Group)
220 S. Warren St.
Syracuse, N.Y. 13202
Office: 315-470-6053
jmurray@syracuse.com

 

——–NORTHWEST——–

Ed Guzman
Assistant Sports Editor
Seattle Times
100 Denny Way
Seattle, WA 98109
Office: 206-464-3191
Cell: 206-678-6241
eguzman@seattletimes.com

Vice chair:
Nathan Joyce
Sports Editor
Kitsap Sun
545 5th St.
Bremerton, WA 98337
Office: 360-377-3711
nathan.joyce@kitsapsun.com

 

——–SOUTHEAST——–

Chris White
Sports Director
The Courier-Journal
525 W. Broadway, P.O. Box 740031
Louisville, Ky., 40201-7431
Cell: 352-284-7501
cwhite@courier-journal.com

 

Vice chair: Vacant 

 

——–SOUTHWEST——–

Greg Rajan
Lead Sports Web Producer
Houston Chronicle
801 Texas Avenue
Houston, TX 77002
Office: 713-362-6947
 Greg.Rajan@chron.com

 

Vice chair: Vacant

 

——–WEST——–

Tom Moore
Executive Sports Editor
Los Angeles Daily News
21860 Burbank Blvd., Suite 200
Woodland Hills, CA 91367
Office: 831-212-2391
Email: tom.moore@langnews.com

 

Vice chair: Vacant

 

Officers

Mary Byrne

Mary Byrne

President
ESPN.com

Tommy Deas

Tommy Deas

First Vice President
The Tuscaloosa News

Todd Adams

Todd M. Adams

Second Vice President
San Diego Union-Tribune

Jack Berninger

Jack Berninger

Executive Director
Richmond Times-Dispatch
(retired)

Bill Eichenberger

Bill Eichenberger

Secretary/Treasurer
Bleacher report

In the News

Jul 28, 2015Gannett seeks Green Bay Packers editor

We’re looking for a dynamic leader to take our award-winning Green Bay Packers coverage team to even greater heights. Our Packers editor will direct a strong team of reporters and photographers/videographers who cover the NFL’s most-storied franchise for an audience that spans the globe. The Green Bay-based Packers team provides primary coverage for Gannett Wisconsin […]

Jul 16, 2015San Diego Union-Tribune seeks San Diego State football beat writer

The San Diego Union-Tribune is looking for a San Diego State University football beat writer. Job responsibilities will include, but not be limited to: ·         Breaking news on the beat. ·         Daily features and notebooks. ·         Regular engagement with your audience through social media. ·         Familiarity with SEO practices and strategies. ·         The ability to […]

more In the News »